A List of Things that Have Left Me Emotionally Scarred

  • WWI
  • The Cambodian Genocide
  • All Quiet on the Western Front
  • The season 2 ending of Torchwood
  • My relationship with my best friend from high school
  • His relationship with my ex-girlfriend from the summer I turned 14
  • High school
  • Being the tallest girl I knew
  • My relationship with my best friend in middle school
  • The depressive episode I experienced from ages 13-14
  • The moments during that time when I was physically incapable of getting up from the floor because my entire existence hurt too much
  • Stepping off the curb on the way to school between the ages of 13-14.
  • The times when my emotional state makes it impossible to get out of bed
  • The times when my emotional state makes my entire life feel unbearable, including and perhaps especially, the things that make me happy.

This has been a public service announcement.

Leave a Reply

